TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Oliva LLC announced a recall of about 250 units of three Riad’s Oliva to Go dips because sesame was not declared on their ingredient labels. The products were distributed in parts of Connecticut and Massachusetts; the company said no illnesses had been reported as of its October 9 announcement.
Oliva LLC is recalling about 250 units of Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and hummus after sesame was omitted from the products’ ingredient declarations, the company said in an alert posted by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on October 9, 2026. The undeclared allergen could pose a serious risk to people with a sesame allergy or severe sensitivity; the company reported no illnesses connected to the issue as of its announcement.
The company said the affected dips were distributed to gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington, Massachusetts, area. They come in clear, square plastic containers with white-and-green labels. Consumers should check the product name and best-by date printed on the side of the label to determine whether a container is included in the recall.
The affected Baba Ghanouj and Spicy Baba Ghanouj have best-by dates from October 10 through October 14, 2026. The recalled hummus has best-by dates from October 12 through October 18, 2026. The company announcement’s product listing spells one name as “Spicy Baby Ghanouj,” while its recall description and product heading refer to “Spicy Baba Ghanouj.”
Oliva said the recall followed an inspection that found sesame was not listed in the ingredient declaration. The company said it corrected the labeling after discovering the discrepancy. Consumers who bought an affected product are urged to return it to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement, according to the company.
Sesame Labeling and Allergy Risk
For people with a sesame allergy or severe sensitivity, an ingredient omitted from a label can make it difficult to identify and avoid a potential exposure. Oliva’s announcement warns that eating the affected products could cause a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction in those consumers. That risk is the reason the company is asking customers to return products rather than rely on the label to identify their ingredients.
The alert is limited to the listed products, date ranges and distribution areas described by the company. It does not say that every Riad’s Oliva product is affected, and the company did not report illnesses at the time of the announcement. Consumers who are unsure whether a container matches the recall can contact Oliva at 203-266-5558 during the hours given in the notice.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Products and Dates in the Recall
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration published the alert on October 9, 2026, as a company announcement. The FDA’s notice says it posts company recall, market withdrawal and safety alerts as a public service; it also states that the agency does not endorse the company or its products. The recall information and product details in the notice are attributed to Oliva LLC.
Oliva identified approximately 250 units in total across the three products. The notice gives separate best-by date ranges: October 10–14 for both Baba Ghanouj varieties, and October 12–18 for hummus. It describes the affected items as Riad’s Oliva to Go products in clear square containers with white-and-green labeling, sold through local gourmet shops and farm markets in the specified areas.
The announcement says the issue was identified during an inspection, when the company found that sesame was not declared on the ingredient label. It does not state that sesame was added as a result of a production error, nor does it explain how the ingredient came to be omitted. Oliva said it corrected its labeling after finding the discrepancy.
““No illnesses have been reported to date in connection with this problem.””
— Oliva LLC, in the company announcement posted by the FDA
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Details Not Given in the Alert
The announcement does not identify how many of the approximately 250 units were sold, how many remain with retailers or consumers, or whether the affected products were distributed beyond the named areas. It also does not specify the inspection agency or provide additional detail about how sesame entered the products or was left off the labels.
The reported absence of illnesses is a status update from the company as of October 9, not a guarantee that no reactions occurred later. The notice does not provide a later update or say whether the FDA has independently confirmed the company’s reported distribution, correction or illness status. It also does not give a lot code beyond the product names and best-by dates.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Returns and Company Contact
Consumers with a matching product should follow Oliva’s instruction to return it to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement. Questions can be directed to the company at 203-266-5558, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern time, Monday through Friday, according to the announcement.
The company’s notice does not set out a separate deadline for returns or announce a date for a follow-up report. Consumers and retailers should use the listed product names, best-by dates and packaging description to check stock, and consult the company for questions about products whose status is uncertain. Any further information about the recall, distribution or reported illnesses was not included in the October 9 notice.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Which products are included in the recall?
The recall covers Riad’s Oliva to Go Baba Ghanouj, Spicy Baba Ghanouj and hummus in the listed best-by date ranges. The company says sesame was not declared on their ingredient labels.
What best-by dates should customers check?
The Baba Ghanouj and Spicy Baba Ghanouj dates run from October 10 through October 14, 2026. The hummus dates run from October 12 through October 18, 2026.
Where were the products distributed?
Oliva said the products went to gourmet shops and farm markets in Litchfield County, Connecticut, and the Great Barrington, Massachusetts, area.
What should someone do with an affected product?
The company urges customers to return it to the place of purchase for a full refund or replacement. For questions, Oliva lists 203-266-5558, available 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern, Monday through Friday.
Have illnesses been reported?
Oliva said no illnesses had been reported in connection with the issue as of its October 9, 2026, announcement. The notice does not provide an update on reports after that date.
Source: primary
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
